Certified Purchasing Manager (C.P.M.)

The Certified Purchasing Manager (C.P.M.) designation is globally the most recognized designation for supply management professionals. The program is designed for experienced supply managers, and focuses on managerial and leadership skills, plus a variety of specialized functions designed to enhance the value of the profession.

The C.P.M. Exam is a criterion-referenced occupational certification test, designed to determine whether a candidate is qualified to attain the premier designation of Certified Purchasing Manager (C.P.M.) Candidates must pass Modules 1 through 4 of the C.P.M. Exam, and then apply for their certification. (Modules 1 and 2 of the C.P.M. Exam also satisfy Modules 1 and 2 of the A.P.P. Exam requirements.)

The C.P.M. Exam consist of four modules:

  • Module 1: Purchasing Process
  • Module 2: Supply Environment
  • Module 3: Value Enhancements Strategies
  • Module 4: Management

Candidates that pass Module 1 and Module 2 can be designated as an Accredited Purchasing Practitioner (A.P.P.).

The A.P.P. designation is specifically designed for entry-level supply management professionals, or those primarily engaged in the operational side of the supply function.